Airbnb

If you read last weeks post you’ll know I spent this past weekend in Bend, Oregon. Finding a place near downtown on a college budget required some investigation, and luckily we were able to find a place on airbnb within walking distance to Bend’s many restaurants, breweries, and bars.

On a hike near our Bend airbnb.

On a hike near our Bend airbnb.

If you’re unfamiliar with airbnb I’ll give you the basics.The company was started in California’s Bay Area in 2008 and operates as a go-between for people with some extra living space and people looking to travel without relying on hotels. Hosts can provide spaces ranging from their living room couch to their spare castle.

Seriously, a castle. Look a it!

Prices vary wildly, and you can travel on the cheap or you can splurge. If you decide to go the airbnb route I suggest you look at the total rental costs including charges for extra guests, pets, cleaning, and the company’s service charge. If you’re looking for extended stays these are offered as well—usually at their own reduced price. Also, if you decide airbnb interests you I’d urge you to book at least a week or two in advance as calendars do fill up in popular locations.

Now that I’ve filled you in on the basics of airbnb I’ll provide you some words of caution based on my experience and the experience of people I know.

(1) Do your research! Read past reviews, contact the host, and look at the location on google maps to get an idea of the neighborhood.

(2) Keep in contact with your host. Let them know your plans for arrival and for departure, and ask them any pertinent questions before you’re on their front doorstep. They’re there to help, but they have their own schedules too.

(3) You get what you pay for; these aren’t hotels! It’s likely you’ll have the same towels throughout your stay, and that nobody will be making you breakfast—though I’ve seen exceptions.

These are things to keep in mind before, during, and after your stay. I look forward to using airbnb in my future local and international travels. I find the prospect of staying with locals in a foreign country fascinating. Travel excites me because it provides opportunities to meet new people with new perspectives, and I think airbnb could be a catalyst for me to do so.

Where will you stay? Will it be a vineyard in Southern France? A couch in a Canada? A treehouse in New Zealand?

These opportunities all exist, you just need to chase them! 🙂

Leave a comment