The Beginning

You’ve landed on “How You Can Go,” a blog about long-term travel. Chances are, you already have a desire to go—maybe you’re like me and international destinations hold the greatest appeal. Maybe you’re looking to embark on a road trip across the country, or an indefinite bike ride to span many states. Wherever you desire to adventure, I hope I can convince you to get up and go. My mission is to convince you to explore the world, and therefore I likely won’t be posting travel tips or itineraries. Travel tips and ideas can be found at sites and blogs like http://global-goose.com/ or http://www.nomadicmatt.com/travel-blog/.

If you’re reading this you’re likely someplace familiar. Maybe you’re in the neighborhood coffee shop, or your school library. Perhaps you’ve just gotten out of bed, or are about to retire for the night. These are the places I often find myself retreating to the Internet in hunt of a new perspective or new ideas. Time and time again I find myself in front of my computer looking for something, anything, with which I can broaden my perspective of this great big Earth.

I’m a student well on his way to completing an Undergraduate degree, and like many I feel I have so much more to learn. I’m looking to further my education. Yes, I would like to attend graduate school in the future, and yes I’d like to master the bass guitar—but I’m talking about a living education. I need to push myself out of complacency, out of the local coffee shops and into the world. The little window you’re reading this on gives us a snapshot of the planet waiting to be explored, and I know I must go. Will you?

Now I’ve asked myself these questions time and time again. Where will I go? When? Why? I find these questions easy to answer, and often I can’t keep my mind from sprinting through possibilities. I tend to hit a wall at the “how.” Traveling great distances for long stretches of time requires a consideration of responsibilities. It means saying goodbye to your family and friends for a time, and it means taking a break from work or school. It also means opportunities to meet new friends, and new family. It means a greater perspective. To me, travel is education. I want to go, and I hope you do too. Now lets talk about how we can make it happen, for me, and for YOU.

Leave a comment